LET’S BE POLITICALLY INCORRECT


     A friend of mine recently expressed concerns about making comments or speaking out because of political correctness. Since then I have introduced the subject in various conversations and found that many people are apprehensive about making a statement because of fear that it may not be politically correct. One person stated that it was risky to make a statement because everybody has to be politically correct. What I want to know is, who says we have to be politically correct? I see examples everywhere of people using political correctness as leverage to get whatever it is that they happen to want at the time but I don’t see anything that says I have to be politically correct. To those who claim that I offended them by using the wrong words I say, “Get over it!” I have the same right of free speech that they have. The words of an old song come to mind that said, “They say I drink whiskey, well my money’s my own and them that don’t like me can leave me alone.” If someone doesn’t like what I say, they don’t have to listen to me and they don’t have to like me but I have every right to say it as long as I am not threatening them or slandering them. If I want to tell someone, “Get off your butt and go get a job,” or, “If you don’t like it here, go back where you came from,” then that is exactly what I will tell them. Changing the name of a person or thing does not change the person or thing. If a person or group of people are ashamed of what they are or what they have done then they need to work on changing what they are or what their reputation has become. Changing their name and complaining may subdue open criticism but opinions won’t change and neither will private comments. If a person is a member of a group that is doing illegal or hurtful things then the person should either be outspoken in condemning the group and make every effort to change the group or, if, out of fear or other reasons, they have no influence in the group they should disengage themselves from the group rather than defending the group. Or, at the very least, not try to pretend that the group has done nothing wrong and tell me that I am not politically correct if I criticize the group.The idea that all of us are created equal is a nice thought but it is a myth. We definitely are not all created equal and to pretend that we are is wasteful and deceptive. I know that there are others who are smarter than I, stronger than I and more agile than I and I don’t try to pretend otherwise. I am not ashamed of the fact nor do I resent it. That is simply how it is and life goes on. If I give every task my best possible effort, then I can hold my head up and not ask that anyone feel sorry for me or pretend that they haven’t noticed. I think that for someone to tell me I have done a great job when I obviously haven’t is an insult to my intelligence. This is how it is and I don’t believe that anyone should be given an advancement or promotion that they have not truly earned. For one reason, that can lead them to believe that there is no need for them to try to improve. It may also lead them to seeking positions that they are incapable of handling.

Let’s forget about political correctness and go back to telling it like it is. Maybe some will be insulted but maybe they will be inspired to making improvements rather than blaming others for their shortcomings.
Go ahead and blast me with your comments. I look forward to hearing from those with a different point of view and I’m sure there are lots of them.

About authorjim

I grew up in the country near a small Montana town, I have spent a lot of time in the outdoors, working, fishing, hunting and camping but have always been interested in mechanical and electrical things. Most of my life has been spent in the use, care and repair of things mechanical, electrical an electronic. After being retired for several years, I began writing and published my first novel at the age of 79. Now, at the age of 82, I have recently published my fourth noveland it is available from me or from the pulisher or book distributor.
This entry was posted in Author Jim's Posts, COMMENTS ABOUT LIFE & LIVING and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LET’S BE POLITICALLY INCORRECT

  1. authorjim says:

    A very good example! Thanks. I intend to be reading “Lost In Seattle” soon.

    Like

  2. bldodson says:

    Really! The janitors in a place where I once worked were called “Sanitarians! (Lost In Seattle) Kindle

    Like

  3. Great post! If you have time please check out my new post!
    http://monoluv.wordpress.com/2013/05/14/underwater-jurassic-park/

    Like

Please take time to leave a comment

